University of the West of Scotland


The University operates across campuses in Paisley, Ayr, Dumfries and Hamilton serving west and south-west Scotland. For over 100 years, the University has been offering programmes with a vocational focus and continues to be dedicated to vocationally relevant education. With around 20,000 students, including 1400 international students, the University is an international, innovative and inclusive institution.

The Paisley Campus is located in the heart of Paisley, Scotland’s largest town. Paisley is seven miles west of Glasgow and, as such, is ideally located for access to some of Scotland’s, and the world’s, most beautiful and historic places such as Edinburgh, Stirling, Loch Lomond and the Scottish Highlands and Islands. With Glasgow International Airport nearby, as well as some of Scotland’s best shopping, eating and entertainment facilities, Paisley provides all the amenities of a large, cosmopolitan city yet remains small enough to be a friendly place to study and live.

The Ayr Campus is located on the west coast of Scotland in the town of Ayr. The Campus houses some of the finest media, broadcasting and recording facilities available.

The University has eight academic schools, each providing a range of subject-specific programmes. Most of the courses provide students the opportunity to undertake one year’s paid work placement, underpinning the practical and vocational orientation of the programmes. Upon graduation, students are prepared for employment.
The University of the West of Scotland is organised into three faculties, containing seven schools: Business School, Computing, Education, Engineering & Science, Creative and Cultural Industries, Health, Nursing & Midwifery, Social Sciences

Degree/ Qualification offered – Certificate, Bachelor, Master, PhD

University Link